To Buy or To Grow? That is the question….

Last night I had the rare opportunity to go grocery shopping alone, i.e. no children.  I took the opportunity to do some serious price comparison in the frozen vegetable department. No matter how hard I looked, I couldn’t find a good price.  Then I remembered I have a table full of broccoli plants at the greenhouse. image

Why am I price-comparison-shopping here when I can plant some in the garden for a fraction of the costs I saw in the deep freezer.  The first three deterrents that came to mind were:
1.  I don’t have time
2.  I’ll have to drag the hose down there and water them
3.  I don’t have time.

But as I stood there debating with myself I realized how foolish my thoughts were.  I will make time by having my children help me.  I already have to drag the hose down there because I have pumpkin, acorn squash, butternut squash, and mini pumpkin plants there already.  And not only will I plant broccoli (which all my children love), but I will plant brussel sprouts and cabbage, too. No one will eat the cabbage but me, but I know my children will love watching the heads form.  My oldest daughter loves brussell sprouts so I think I will enlist her help with those. So, yes, I do have time, but even better than that I have a plan for my children to be a part of growing some of their favorite foods.  At 8, 3, and 1 even they can tell home grown food tastes better than store bought food and know immediately if I’ve taken a short cut and used a “box” to make supper.  Though I know I’ve made extra work for myself by teaching them to grow, harvest, and store food I also rest assured I have done my best for them in feeding them fresh vegetables. So they have picky pallets, I could do worse.  If I can teach them that life is not always easy, especially if we choose to do what’s best and not what is quick, then I give them an even greater legacy.

So….to buy or to grow, that’s now your question!

Happy Planting!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment